VIDEO: Access to Justice Panel and Distinguished Innovator of the Year

On September 21, 2020, the University of Michigan gave Matterhorn Founder J.J. Prescott it’s 2020 Distinguished Innovator of the Year award. It also hosted a panel, entitled Technology, Access to Justice, and Democratizing American Courts. The video of this event is now available.


  • Michigan Supreme Court Chief Justice Bridget McCormack
  • J.J. Prescott, University of Michigan Law School Professor and Matterhorn Founder
  • Jason Tashea, founder and director of Justice Codes, a nonprofit focused on the impact of technology in criminal justice systems
  • Bernadette Atuahene, law professor at Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology, and a research professor at the American Bar Foundation
  • Moderator: Luke Shaefer, the inaugural director of U-M’s Poverty Solutions program.

This panel discussion is part of a celebration honoring Matterhorn founder J.J. Prescott receiving the 2020 University Distinguished Innovator Award.

Posted in Event.